The Classics Club Women’s Classic Literature Event

CCWomenClassics.jpg

As I’m terribly late in posting about this, let me get right down to business:  In 2016, The Classics Club is hosting a year-long event devoted to reading more classic literature written by women.  I’m excited to get involved, because while I do try to balance my reading gender-wise, there are so many wonderful female authors I have never explored and so many more I’ve never heard of, whether it be because of my own reading path, because their work is not always easy to get hold of, or because their work has been actively repressed at one time or another.  I hope to learn about many new-to-me authors via other Classics Clubbers’ blogs and reviews!

As of this moment, I know I will be reading these classics by women in 2016:

  • Hangsaman – Shirley Jackson (USA, 1951, owned)
  • Around the World in 72 Days – Nellie Bly (USA, 1890, owned)
  • Maud Martha – Gwendolyn Brooks (USA, 1953, library)
  • Precious Bane – Mary Webb (England, 1924, library)
  • The Artificial Silk Girl – Irmgard Keun (Germany, 1932, owned)
  • The Golden Notebook – Doris Lessing (Iran/Zimbabwe, 1962, owned)
  • The Wall – Marlen Haushofer (Austria, 1963, owned)
  • Under the Sea Wind – Rachel Carson (USA, 1941, library)

As I’m hoping to discover new favorite authors, my short list of books I will choose from to add to my reading as the year progresses are all by authors I’ve never read and who aren’t well known.  (Sorry, Buck, Cather, Elliot, Gaskell, Highsmith, Murdoch, et al.  I know it’s tragic that I’ve never read any of you, but you’ll have your turn another year after these less popular gals get some attention.)

  • Ideala: A Study from Life – Sarah Grand (Ireland, 1888, owned)
  • Joanna Godden – Sheila Kaye-Smith (England, 1921, owned)
  • Marcella – Mary Augusta Ward  (Australia, 1894, owned)
  • Memoirs of Hadrian – Marguerite Yourcenar (Belgium, 1951, library)
  • Nada – Carmen Laforet (Spain, 1944, library)
  • The First Violin – Jessie Fothergill (England, 1877, owned)
  • The Hidden Hand – E. D. E. N. Southworth (USA, 1859, owned
  • The Locusts Have No King – Dawn Powell (USA, 1948, owned)
  • Wired Love – Ella Cheever Thayer (USA, 1879, owned)
  • The Young Man with a Horn – Dorothy Baker (USA, 1938, library)
  • The Morgesons – Elizabeth Stoddard (USA, 1862, owned)
  • American Indian Stories – Zitkala-Ša (USA/Native American, 1921, owned)

All but the Yourcenar are quite obscure, and even that (so I’ve been told) masterpiece isn’t known or read as it should be.  I’m hoping I’ll be able to squeeze at least a couple of these in this year!

 

5 thoughts on “The Classics Club Women’s Classic Literature Event

  1. This is a fascinating list. I was particularly delighted to see a 19th-century American text I didn’t know (as I teach 19th-c. Am. women’s lit). Wired Love sounds really interesting. How did you find out about it?

    Reply
    • I thought Wired Love sounded interesting (and fairly unusual, too.) I found it while swimming around on Goodreads. I was looking at the page for another book – probably one from this list, but I don’t recall exactly – and was looking through the “Readers Also Enjoyed” sidebar feature, and there it was. I am not generally a romance reader, but there were enough intriguing non-romantic bits mentioned in the book’s description that I immediately wanted to read it!

      Reply
  2. It’s good to see you back, and I’m excited that you’ll be reading for this event. I’m planning to do the same thing. I love that your second list includes books and authors I’ve never heard of. :)Have fun reading!

    Reply
  3. I think there is excitement in a lot of readers’ hearts at the thought of discovering an overlooked classic. Hopefully you’ll find several of those while reading these more obscure authors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

