2015 To Be Read List

I think I’ve decided how I want to approach my 2015 attempt to scale another few feet of Mount TBR.  I will be focusing largely on books I already own, whether in paper or electronic form.  I intend to keep with my policy from 2014 of not buying new books, reading from my own shelves and relying on the local library for new releases that catch my eye and book group reads.  I have excellent luck with getting at or near the top of the library’s holds lists, often getting new releases first or second, as I have become expert at stalking their online database, keeping watch for pre-release titles that interest me and tagging books when they are newly on order.  I often wonder why more readers in my city don’t jump on this method, but I suppose I should be thankful that they don’t!

I have linked this list as a static page at the top of the blog and will update there as I add additional titles and cross off those I’ve read.  I expect to add another 20-30 books to this list over the course of the year, assuming I keep with my general average of 60-ish annual reads.  Most of the additions will come from farther down my own stacks and from public domain e-books, peppered again with library finds.

Here are some basic statistics on the titles I’ll be drawing from, followed by the list as it currently stands:

Total books: 35
Owned:  14
Public-domain ebooks:  10
Library books: 11
By female authors:  21
By male authors:  14
Works in translation:  10
1001 Books inclusions:  12
Classics Club selections:  12

Abbreviations:  CC = The Classics Club.  1001 = 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die

THE BOOKS:

  1. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami (1001)
  2. Alcestis by Katharine Beutner
  3. Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes
  4. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell (1001, CC)
  5. Dictionary of the Khazars by Milorad Pavic (1001)
  6. Geek Love by Katherine Dunn
  7. How to be both by Ali Smith
  8. Indigo by Marina Warner (1001)
  9. Kokoro by Sōseki Natsume (1001, CC)
  10. Lamb by Christopher Moore
  11. Memoirs of Hadrian by Marguerite Yourcenar (1001, CC)
  12. Metropolis by Thea von Harbou (CC)
  13. Neuromancer by William Gibson (1001)
  14. Nova by Samuel R. Delany
  15. Obabakoak: Stories from a Village by Bernardo Atxaga (1001)
  16. Orlando by Virginia Woolf (1001, CC)
  17. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  18. Stone Junction by Jim Dodge (1001)
  19. Sultana’s Dream by Rokeya Sakhawat Hossain (CC)
  20. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood (1001)
  21. The Country of Ice Cream Star by Sandra Newman (CC)
  22. The Double by Fyodor Dostoyevsky (CC)
  23. The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt
  24. The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin (CC)
  25. The Library Window by Margaret Oliphant (CC)
  26. The Machine Stops by E. M. Forster (CC)
  27. The Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle (CC)
  28. The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields
  29. The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami
  30. The Three-Body Problem by Liu Cixin
  31. The Wilds by Julia Elliott
  32. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins (1001, CC)
  33. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll (graphic novel)
  34. Wild Life by Molly Gloss
  35. Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler
6 thoughts on “2015 To Be Read List

  1. Makes absolute sense to stick to what you have on your shelves first. For the reading challenges I have signed up for I have listed books I own. I’m hoping to be done with at least 25 by the end of this year. That should nearly have my shelved to-be-reads. ….

    All the best with your little 2015 project! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love how varied your list is, and Woman in White is a truly wonderful read. Your policy towards TBR reading is pretty much the same as mine, except that I will try my best to stay away from the library too.
    Happy reading in 2015 🙂

    Reply
  3. I’m going to try once again to limit the number of books I buy to just those for my world literature project which are not easy to get via our library. Hope you enjoy Blind Assassin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

