Bout of Books 12: Sign-up Post

Bout of Books

It’s almost time for the next Bout of Books week-long read-a-thon.  This will be my fourth time participating, and I’m excited to jump-start 2015’s reading!  The BoB team always hosts great games, chats and giveaways all through the week, and the community is so open and supportive.  The fun starts January 5, 2015!

Here’s the official info:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 5th and runs through Sunday, January 11th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

To get involved, head to the official sign-up post.

I’ve got some classic science fiction and Japanese literature on my reading list for the event.  I plan to finally read The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin.  I will also be diving into two novellas with unexpected origins:  The Machine Stops, a proto-proto-steampunk tale published in 1909 by E. M. Forster (!) and Sultana’s Dream by Rokeya Sakhawat Hossain – a feminist utopia written in 1905 in what is now Bangladesh.

In addition to the old-school speculative stuff, I will be tacking Sōseki Natsume’s 1914 classic, Kokoro.  Beyond this point, I’m unsure how I will progress.  It will depend largely upon whether I get in a groove with the science fiction or Japanese lit or if I need a break from the genres.  If I need more classic sf, I’ve got Nova by Samuel R. Delany and Metropolis by Thea von Harbou on deck.  If I’m hankering for more from Japan, I might re-start 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami. If I’m in the mood for something completely different, I’ll either grab something that beckons to me from my home shelves or see which interesting new-ish releases the library currently has on tap.

Will you be joining the read-a-thon?

One thought on “Bout of Books 12: Sign-up Post

  1. I will be joining up! This is my first BoB and I couldn’t be more excited. 🙂

    Your stack so far sounds awesome! I haven’t even begin to plan and might just wing this one, similarly seeing what calls to me from my or the library’s shelves.

    Happy holidays!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

