The Classics Club: Classics Spin #8

The Classics Club

It’s time for another round of The Classics Club Spin!  Here are the rules:

  • Go to your blog.
  • Pick twenty books that you’ve got left to read from your Classics Club List.
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday.
  • Monday morning, we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  • The challenge is to read that book by January 5, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading! (No fair not listing any scary ones!)

As I didn’t enjoy my last Spin book much at all,  I’m crossing my fingers that this time around I’ll be paired with a book I can love. Here is my list:

  1. Arthur Conan Doyle – The Sign of Four (1890)
  2. Jun’ichirō Tanizaki – Naomi (1924)
  3. Fyodor Dostoyevsky – The Double (1846)
  4. Machado de Assis – Epitaph of a Small Winner (1880)
  5. Ursula K. Le Guin – The Left Hand of Darkness (1969)
  6. Kurt Vonnegut – Cat’s Cradle (1964)
  7. Charles Dickens – Great Expectations (1861)
  8. Ann Radcliffe – A Sicilian Romance (1790)
  9. Margaret Oliphant – The Library Window (1896)
  10. Jean Rhys – Good Morning, Midnight (1939)
  11. Colette – Gigi & The Cat (1944)
  12. Edwin A. Abbott – Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions (1884)
  13. Herman Hesse – Steppenwolf (1927)
  14. Emile Zola – The Belly of Paris (1873)
  15. E. M. Forster – The Machine Stops (1905)
  16. Sarah Orne Jewett – The Country of Pointed Firs (1896)
  17. Anna Katharine Green – That Affair Next Door (1897)
  18. Jane Austen – Northanger Abbey (1817)
  19. Rokeya Sakhawat Hossain – Sultana’s Dream (1905)
  20. Patricia Highsmith – Strangers on a Train (1950)
3 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Classics Spin #8

  1. I just read a book by Oliphant for the first time. I loved it! You got Hesse to read for the spin! I tried reading Steppenwolf back in the 70’s when it was very popular but couldn’t get into it.

    Reply
    • I enjoyed Hesse’s Siddhartha when I read it years ago, so I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll like this one. I do have a soft spot for books about doubles/doppelgängers, so I’m going in with a positive attitude.

      I also intend to watch the 1974 Max von Sydow film adaptation once I’m done reading, so that will hopefully cap things off and help me mesh with any parts that don’t quite work for me in print.

      Reply
      • Actually, now that you mention it. Maybe it was Siddhartha I tried to read. It’s so long ago, I can’t remember! Good luck on your reading. I got Their Eyes Were Watching God.

Leave a Reply

