Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon: Wrap-Up & Ending Meme (2014)

Deweys 24hr RATSo ends another edition of Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon.  I’m definitely in zombie mode today, but I think it was worth it!  Here’s my brief wrap-up and answers to the end-of-event meme:

I finished three books:

The Great God Pan by Arthur Machen

The Harlem Hellfighters by Max Brooks

Memory of Water by Emmi Itäranta

I also read a few chapters in The Woman in the Dunes by Kōbō Abe and a few more chapters in Haruki Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore.  

End of Event Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? – Actually, the first hours were the worst this time.  Getting a really late start sapped my motivation a bit, and multiple family distractions and detours got me even more off-track.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? – Last time, I included short stories.  I was very silly not to do so this time.  I highly recommend them for RaTs, as well as graphic novels.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? – Nothing comes to mind, honestly.  As for suggestions for myself, not for the team:  Try audiobooks.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? – The cheerleaders were great!  Even though they were short-handed, they were enthusiastic and on-the-ball.
  5. How many books did you read? – I finished 3 and read parts of 2 others.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? – see above
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? – Memory of Water
  8. Which did you enjoy least? – The Great God Pan
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? – n/a
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? – I will almost certainly participate again, as a reader.  I don’t have the moxie to be a cheerleader right now!

Next read-a-thon on the docket:  Bout of Books 12, January 5-11, 2015!  I imagine the next edition of Dewey’s 24-Hour RaT will be around April.

3 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon: Wrap-Up & Ending Meme (2014)

  1. Congrats on a job well done!! Sounds like you had a good time, despite a late start. I definitely suggest audiobooks, they are great for multitasking while cheering or just visiting other blogs. I wouldn’t have been able to get through the books I did without audiobooks for all the blogs I had to cheer for. Here’s my Wrap Up Post.

    Reply
  2. Like you I will add audio books to the mix time.
    I was truly surprised by how distractable I was all day too.

    The fun part now is gradually making my way the blogs to see how everyone went & to pick up tips for next time 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

