Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon: Base Camp & Opening Meme (October 2014)

Deweys 24hr RATThis is a sticky post for my periodic read-a-thon updates.

The event started at 5am my time, but I had Things to attend to this morning, so I’ll be starting reading at 11am PST, which is officially Hour 7 of the read-a-thon.

I think I’ll start with Woman in the Dunes first, while my brain is fresh, leaving the YA and graphic novel choices for later when I need a boost in the afternoon.  And of course, Machen’s old-school Gothic horror must be read at night.


My progress:

  • 11:00 am PST:  Start reading.  Ha!  Forget that.  My mother called long-distance, and I had unexpected company.  It’s now 12:45 pm, and I’m just reading my first page.
  • 1:30 pm PST:  I got in about 40 pages between 12:45 and 1:30pm, spread across all the books in my stack.  (I was trying to decide which one was going to hook me first.)  Now it’s time to eat some lunch, stretch a bit, check in with the community and chop some things and toss them into the slow cooker for a late meal when the fella gets home around 10pm.  After lunch and etc., I’m going to continue on with Memory of Water, as it is both swift-moving and peppered with such pretty, descriptive language.
  • 3:30 pm PST – Lunch is eaten, things are chopped and slow-cooking and household puttering is accomplished.  Back to the books! I want to try to read straight until 5:30 or so.  Then I’ll break for stretching, snacking and community stalking.
  • 5:30 pm PST:  Snack and stretch break!  I’m having some popcorn and am about to take a look-see at the current minigames.  I read right around 100 pages in Memory of Water.  I’m not sure if I want to finish it up when I return to my reading spot or if I want to skip over into another book for a bit.  Hmm…  I’ll decide in a bit, but right now my most urgent task is too put the kettle on.  I am in dire need of some strong black tea!
  • 7:00 pm PST:  Tea seems to have had the reverse of its intended effect.  I took a bit of a cat nap – with the cat! – and now I’m going to try for an hour-long reading sprint.
  • 8:15 pm PST:  I finished The Harlem Hellfighers – 257 pages.
  • 2:00 am PST (hour 22):  Since my last update, I read and finished Machen’s The Great God Pan, a couple of chapters in The Woman in the Dunes and another 50 pages in Memory of Water, played in a couple of minigames, visited some blogs and had dinner/family time with the fella.  I’m going to brew some more tea and try to keep going.

Opening meme:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? – I’m in the Puget Sound region of Washington State, United States.  (outside Seattle)

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? – Woman in the Dunes

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? – I’m not looking forward to any snack in particular.  I don’t gather snacks especially for the event;  I just eat the snacks I normally might – black tea, plain seltzer, hummus with veggies, maybe some popcorn or nuts or dark chocolate or a granola bar.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself! – I’m perhaps a bit too pleased at the moment that we’ve launched into the stereotypical gray-and-rainy season here in the Pacific NW.  The chill and the sound of rain has set up a perfect reading feel for me – cozy and cocoony.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? – This is my second read-a-thon.  This time I will not push myself to stay awake all the time but will nap and will acknowledge my body’s signs that it’s time to stop and go to bed later.  I have a chronic autoimmune syndrome, yet I am stubborn and want to push like I used to when I was younger.  This time, I will remember that I’m not 20 and in full health and will take a saner approach so that I don’t pay for it tomorrow and all next week.

8 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon: Base Camp & Opening Meme (October 2014)

  1. Keep up the reading! Have you had a chance to nap yet? A power nap can do wonders for your attention later on in the readathon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

