The Classics Club: Spin Number Announced

Click to learn about the Classics Club challenge.The lucky number for the Classics Club Spin #6 has been announced:

 

#1!

 

I’ll be reading A High Wind in Jamaica by Richard Hughes, first published in 1928.  I’m excited to finally be getting around to this book!  I’ve heard that it’s surprisingly strange and dark and definitely is not a children’s book, despite having child protagonists.

 

Per Goodreads:

A High Wind in Jamaica“…a classic adventure novel and one of the most startling, highly praised stories in English literature–a brilliant chronicle of two sensitive children’s violent voyage from innocence to experience.

After a terrible hurricane levels their Jamaican estate, the Bas-Thorntons decide to send their children back to the safety and comfort of England. On the way their ship is set upon by pirates, and the children are accidentally transferred to the pirate vessel. Jonsen, the well-meaning pirate captain, doesn’t know how to dispose of his new cargo, while the children adjust with surprising ease to their new life. As this strange company drifts around the Caribbean, events turn more frightening and the pirates find themselves increasingly incriminated by the children’s fates. The most shocking betrayal, however, will take place only after the return to civilization.”

What book did the Spin give you?

11 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Spin Number Announced

  1. Nice! I’ve seen the film (many, many years ago) but not read the book – look forward to your review!

    Reply
  2. This sounds intriguing! I’ve heard the title but had no idea what the book was about before reading your post. I hope you enjoy it.

    Reply
    • RE: “What made you choose it?” – I had heard of the title for years, but one day I was reading through a list of unconventional nautical tales, and it caught my eye. After looking up more about the story, I was intrigued enough to add it to my list.

      I read Canterbury Tales – although I suspect it was an abridged version, as it was neither as lengthy nor as bawdy as I’ve seen it described since – as a teen, and I thought it was quite entertaining. I hope you enjoy it!

      Reply
      • I read a few of the tales because it was on the syllabus for our university entrance exams but of course that was a very long time ago…

  3. I’m not familiar with this title, but love the cover… seems like I always love New York Review Books Classic covers. Their selections have never disappointed me either. Hope you enjoy this one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

