The Classics Club: Classics Spin #6

 

The Classics ClubIt’s time for another round of The Classics Spin at The Classics Club!  Here are the rules of the game:

  • Go to your blog.
  • Pick twenty books that you’ve got left to read from your Classics Club List.
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday.
  • Monday morning, we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  • The challenge is to read that book by July 7, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading! (No fair not listing any scary ones!)

The suggested categories are optional, but I opted to use them.  My free choice theme this time is Books Chosen Because the Authors Have Awesome Names.

Here’s my list, randomized via the List Randomizer at Random.org,  followed by a breakdown by category.  Will you be taking your chances in this round of The Spin?

 

My Classics Club Spin List:

  1. A High Wind in Jamaica – Richard Hughes (1927)
  2. Strangers on a Train – Patricia Highsmith (1950)
  3. Dance Night – Dawn Powell (1930)
  4. The Star Rover – Jack London (1913)
  5. Naomi – Jun’ichirō Tanizaki (1924)
  6. Doctor Glas – Hjalmar Söderberg (1905)
  7. Two Serious Ladies – Jane Bowles (1943)
  8. The House on the Strand – Daphne du Maurier (1968)
  9. The Lover – Marguerite Duras (1984)
  10. Hunger – Knut Hamsun (1890)
  11. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens (1861)
  12. Memento Mori – Muriel Spark (1959)
  13. Good Morning, Midnight – Jean Rhys (1939)
  14. Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez (1985)
  15. We Have Always Lived in the Castle – Shirley Jackson (1962)
  16. Memoirs of Hadrian – Marguerite Yourcenar (1951)
  17. The Belly of Paris/The Fat and the Thin – Émile Zola (1873)
  18. The Yellow Wallpaper – Charlotte Perkins Gilman (1892)
  19. The Double – Fyodor Dostoyevsky (1846)
  20. So Big – Edna Ferber (1924)

 

Categories:

Five I’m excited for:

  1. A High Wind in Jamaica – Richard Hughes (1927)
  2. Memento Mori – Muriel Spark (1959)
  3. Strangers on a Train – Patricia Highsmith (1950)
  4. The Star Rover – Jack London (1913)
  5. We Have Always Lived in the Castle – Shirley Jackson (1962)

Five I’m dreading a bit:

  1. Doctor Glas – Hjalmar Söderberg (1905)
  2. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens (1861)
  3. Hunger – Knut Hamsun (1890)
  4. The Lover – Marguerite Duras (1984)
  5. The Yellow Wallpaper – Charlotte Perkins Gilman (1892)

Five I’m neutral about:

  1. Dance Night – Dawn Powell (1930)
  2. Good Morning, Midnight – Jean Rhys (1939)
  3. Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez (1985)
  4. So Big – Edna Ferber (1924)
  5. Two Serious Ladies – Jane Bowles (1943)

Free theme – Awesome Author Names:

  1. Memoirs of Hadrian – Marguerite Yourcenar (1951)
  2. Naomi – Jun’ichirō Tanizaki (1924)
  3. The Belly of Paris/The Fat and the Thin – Émile Zola (1873)
  4. The Double – Fyodor Dostoyevsky (1846)
  5. The House on the Strand – Daphne du Maurier (1968)

 

15 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Classics Spin #6

  1. That’s a really interesting selection of books! I loved “The Double”; read “The House on the Strand” decades ago and remember loving it; “Hunger” is brilliant too! Hope you get a good one!

    Reply
  2. I hope the spin chooses a great book for you! The only books on your list that I’ve read are The House on the Strand, Great Expectations and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, but I loved all three.

    Reply
  3. You have such a unique list. I have to research some of the books that I don’t recognize.

    I’m very intrigued by Knut Hamsun but I think my favourites would be Zola and Dostoyevsky. Zola’s prose is so alive and interesting. I’m reading through his Rougon-Macquart series at the moment.

    Have a great spin!

    Reply
  4. That is a wonderfully diverse list. I loved ‘We have Always Lived in the Castle’ and I wouldn’t say that you need to be too scared of ‘Great expectaions’ or ‘The Yellow Wallpaper’

    I hope that the spin gives you a book you will love.

    Reply
  5. You have quite a few on your list that I don’t know anything about. Interesting! Great Expectations and The Yellow Wallpaper are not particularly daunting. I found Love in the Time of Cholera harder to read than any of those.

    Reply
  6. Don’t dread Great Expectations. I found it a much easier read than expected. I think it’s Dickens’ writing, he can really hook a reader.

    Reply
  7. Interesting list – some I’ve never heard of but have now made a note of. don’t feel intimidated by Great Expectations, it’s one of the most accessible of Dickens’ novels. And the Yellow Wallpaper is just superb

    Reply
  8. Interesting list I hope the spin picks you one your excited about. I have read We Have Always Live in the Castle it is beautifully written and super creepy. Good luck!

    Reply
  9. If no. 20 spins up we will read So Big together. It has been on my shelf for a while, although I know very little about it.

    I will post my whole list in the next day or so.

    Good luck 🙂

    Reply
  10. Great list….! I would be very excited about Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez (1985)… Good luck with the spin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

