Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon Wrap-up and End-of-Event Meme

Deweys 24hr RAT*yawn*  Good morning, readers.  Another Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon has come and gone.  I passed out somewhere around hour 21, then woke up and managed to get a little more reading done in Banana Yoshimoto’s collection, Lizard, before falling back asleep for good about an hour later.  I slept from around 3am to 9am, until the sun’s angle through my window made it impossible for me to ignore it any longer.

Here’s my final Read-a-thon tally, followed by my answers to the traditional closing meme:

READ-A-THON TOTALS:

  • Total minutes spent actively reading during Read-a-thon:  491 minutes (8 hours 11 minutes)
  • Total pages read during Read-a-thon:  776 pages
  • Total books finished during Read-a-thon:  4 
      • Embers by Sándor Márai – Hungarian classic
      • A Country Year by Sue Hubbell – nonfiction/nature memoir
      • Quesadillas by Juan Pablo Villalobos – contemporary literary/humor/Spanish language translation
      • The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg – graphic novel based on folklore and myth
      • plus a story and a half from Lizard by Banana Yoshimoto – Japanese collection

Ah, I wish the internet (and thus online read-a-thons) was (were) ubiquitous when I was young enough to maybe get 20+ hours of reading in in a 24-hour period.  I just can’t read for stretches longer than 60-90 minutes at a time now (on a good day) without falling asleep or my eyes rebelling.  But again, as I usually average about 50 pages per day and one or maybe two (at most) books finished per week, I am thrilled over how much extra reading this event has helped me enjoy for the month!

How did you fare, fellow read-a-thoners?  I will try to get to the blogs of participants I follow, plus a few others at least, later today to see your wrap-ups and closing memes.  Speaking of which:

End of Event Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? – I don’t know that any one hour was worse than others, but he middle of the event was difficult for me in general.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? – If you like satirical humor mixed with coming-of-age, you would probably really enjoy Quesadillas by Juan Pablo Villalobos. It’s short, reads briskly and has beautiful language and some really memorable scenes and characters.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? – Honestly, I don’t.  I think the event organizers did a great job.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? – On my end, shorter books from varying genres, frequent breaks and keeping music on worked well.  I don’t know exactly what was different this time on the administrative end of the event (if anything,) but things ran smoothly and were kept fun, so it seems most everything must have worked well in that respect.
  5. How many books did you read? – 4 and a quarter of a 5th
  6. What were the names of the books you read? – see above (I’m too lazy this morning to re-type them!)
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? – Quesadillas or A Country Year, which was a reread and one of my favorites
  8. Which did you enjoy least? – probably my reread of Embers, as it was too languid and thoughtful for a read-a-thon environment (I probably shouldn’t have included any classics that weren’t humorous or especially zippy, but I wanted to get this finished.)
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? – n/a
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? – I am very likely to participate again.
2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon Wrap-up and End-of-Event Meme

  1. 4 books is a great result! 🙂 I think shorter books plus frequent breaks are good recommendations for people who intend to read many hours in a row. I was taking breaks all the time (I feel like too much even, to be honest…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

