Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon Sign-up Post (April 2014)

dewey-300x300 Wow, I’ve been away from my blog quite a bit longer than I’d expected to be.  Things have been hectic, and I haven’t had much time for reading, let alone writing about reading. But the Fates have been kind this weekend, and it seems I’ll have the house to myself most of Saturday and Sunday. This is perfect timing, as Saturday, April 26 is the next date for Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon! I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to participate this time, but as things have worked out to allow me the alone-and-reading time, I’m definitely going to take advantage of it.

And boy, oh boy…do I ever need to catch up on my reading and reviews! After the Read-a-Thon rush is over, I want to spend Sunday catching up on the blog. I have short story thoughts to post for 3 weeks of Deal Me In challenge stories, a Classics Club review catch-up post to make, and a couple of reviews of more recent works to finalize and get online.

But first comes Saturday and the happy frenzy of the read-a-thon! Here’s what I have in my book pile for my soon-to-be loopy and sleep-deprived brain to tackle:

RAT books

Embers by Sándor Márai – This is a re-read I want to revisit for the Classics Club and the 2 re-reading challenges I’m involved in.

A Country Year by Sue Hubbell – Another re-read, this memoir is one of my favorite books.  I’m somewhere in the middle right now, and I’d like to finish it.

Quesadillas by Juan Pablo Villalobos – I’ll be reading the recent English translation of this Mexican satire/coming-of-age.  I’ve read that it’s hilarious and dark, but also touching.

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg – I’m half-way through this wonderful folklore-infused graphic novel.

I have two collections of short stories on hand in case I need an interlude: Who Do You Think You Are? (aka The Beggar Maid) by Alice Munro and Banana Yoshimoto’s Lizard.

I’m looking forward to the challenges and contests the Dewey’s team has in store, and I’ll be making several update posts throughout the day tomorrow.  I’ll also try to remember to monitor the #readathon Twitter channel.  The last few updates, there have been enough readings posting that the read-a-thon trended all day, which is rather amazing in context.  If you’re participating in Dewey’s Read-a-Thon, too, I can’t wait to read your updates!

One thought on “Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon Sign-up Post (April 2014)

Leave a Reply

