Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon: Kick Off Meme

dewey-300x300

 

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? – I’m in the Puget Sound region of Washington State, USA


2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? – Hmm… probably either Quesadillas by Juan Pablo Villalobos (which has a wonderful, whimsical and tactile/textured cover I can not stop touching) or Lizard by Banana Yoshimoto, because I’ve previously read (and loved) her novel Kitchen, so I’m really looking forward to trying her short stories.


3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? – I don’t do much in the way of snacking for a read-a-thon that’s different from my usual snacking, so probably air-popped popcorn with curry powder and copious quantities of black tea.


4) Tell us a little something about yourself! – My name is Candiss, and I’m an onomastics enthusiast.  (That’s the study of the etymology and origin of names.)  I have one son whom I can not believe is now 20 years old. Wasn’t he a kid just yesterday?  His name is Dorian.  (No, not for the Oscar Wilde book. His name was chosen because I had a complete obsession with ancient history in my early 20s, and I loved the name of the proto-Greek tribe the Dorians.  If he had been a girl, he might have been Lydia, for the Lydian tribe.)  I have one extremely bossy, moody and anti-social cat named Luna.  (No, not for Harry Potter. Luna is 11 years old and was named before my son every introduced me to the HP characters.  She’s named for the fact that her fur is so white that she glows in the light, reflecting sun much like the moon…and for the fact that she’s completely insane.) Currently, as for the past week, a robin is repeatedly and systematically dive-bombing our front windows, attacking his reflection, as he’s decided the house and yard are his territory. (The robin has yet to be named, although I’m working on it.)  Luna is losing her furry little mind over the fact that she can’t get to him. When the sun moves to the other side of the house, he’ll switch to the window of the back screen door.  It is currently 40 degrees F (4 C) but, amazingly, not raining yet.  This is what passes for Spring in the Pacific NW.  (To be fair, everything is green and flowery while being this chilly and wet.  We’re actually in a rainforest here, believe it or not.)


5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? – I am focusing on several shorter books, and when I’m not taking a break to update and check the read-a-thon homepage and #readathon Twitter posts, I’m turning my computer off so I don’t get distracted by the temptation to read everyone else’s updates as they come in…or get lost in the news or my email.  I’m trying to remove all other distractions and to set myself up for more likely success in finishing books by not including any long or particularly difficult/dense reads.

I’m off to take a few minutes to finish up a couple of chores so I don’t feel them nagging at me all day, and then on to the books!  (I’ll be starting in Hour 4, because I didn’t manage to wake up at 5am as I’d hoped to.)  Happy reading, Read-a-Thoners!

One thought on “Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon: Kick Off Meme

Leave a Reply

