Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon: Check-in post #1

Deweys 24hr RATIt’s 11am in my neck of the woods, and I’ve been reading since 9am.  Between the quiet and the drone of the heater’s battle against the chill in the air, I was starting to doze off, so I thought this would be a good time to make a check-in post.

 

THIS UPDATE:

  • Minutes read:  85 minutes  (I took breaks to walk around, as I’m prone to leg cramps if I sit for a long time, as well as to rest my eyes, check on the plants I’ve been draining in the tub, etc.)
  • Pages read:  85 pages 
  • Books in progress:  Embers (31 pages) & A Country Year (54 pages;  I started from the beginning, as I disliked jumping into the middle of the year-cycle format of the book.)
  • Books finished during this update:  none yet

 

READ-A-THON TOTALS:

  • Total minutes spent reading during Read-a-thon:  85 minutes
  • Total pages read during Read-a-thon:  85 pages
  • Total books finished during Read-a-thon:  0

 

I probably won’t go back to Embers for a while – at least until I have lunch and get a second wind (and maybe a 20-minute nap followed by some caffeine.  The languid, descriptive nature of this Hungarian classic lulls me into a reverie, which I don’t have the wakefulness to resist right now.  I can’t believe how sleepy I am!  I’m also going to put on some music to try to help my eyelids stay open.  I want to eat something substantial and non-snacky to bolster my energy, too.  I just set up the rice cooker and am going to quickly stir-fry some veggies and a couple of eggs – not too much sleepy-making fat, some protein and fiber, and a half-serving of rice (More carbs will make me sleepier, too.)  and get a pot of tea going.  Then I’ll head back to the books and see how I’m feeling.

Right now, I’m heading to the Read-a-thon homepage to see if there’s a mini-challenge that catches my fancy while I wait for the rice to cook.  See you next update!

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon: Check-in post #1

Leave a Reply

