The Classics Club: Classics Spin #5

The Classics Clu

It’s time for another round of The Classics Spin at The Classics Club!  The rules of the game are as follows:

“At your blog, by next Monday, Feb 10, list your choice of any twenty books you’ve left to read from your Classics Club list – in a separate post.

This is your Spin List. You have to read one of these twenty books in February & March. (Details follow.) So, try to challenge yourself. For example, you could list five Classics Club books you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)

Next Monday, we’ll post a number from 1 through 20. The challenge is to read whatever book falls under that number on your Spin List, by April 2. We’ll have a check in here in April, to see who made it the whole way and finished the spin book.”

I stuck with the customary Can’t Wait / Neutral / Dreading categories, and my free choice category is Virago Books.  Since The Classics Club’s March theme is Feminist Literature / Virago Lit / Persephone Lit (and I have several Virago titles on my Classics Club list,) I thought it might help me decide what to read for that event.

Here’s my list, randomized via the List Randomizer at Random.org,  followed by a break-down of categories.  Will you be playing in this round of The Spin?

 

  1. Schreiner, Olive – The Story of an African Farm (1883)
  2. Johnson, Josephine Winslow – Now in November (1934)
  3. Doyle, Sir Arthur Conan – The Sign of Four (1890)
  4. Jackson, Shirley – We Have Always Lived in the Castle (1962)
  5. Nabokov, Vladimir – Despair (1934)
  6. Swift, Jonathan – Gulliver’s Travels (1726)
  7. Maurier, Daphne du – Rebecca (1938)
  8. Hughes, Richard – A High Wind in Jamaica (1927)
  9. Kafka, Franz – The Trial (1925)
  10. Zweig, Stefan – Chess Story (1941)
  11. Ferber, Edna – So Big (1924)
  12. Dostoyevsky, Fyodor – The Double (1846)
  13. Auster, Paul – The New York Trilogy (1986)
  14. Hurston, Zora Neale – Their Eyes Were Watching God (1937)
  15. Spark, Muriel – Memento Mori (1959)
  16. Undset, Sigrid – The Wreath (Kristin Lavransdatter #1) (1920)
  17. Zola, Emile – The Belly of Paris (1873)
  18. Voltaire – Candide (1759)
  19. Comyns, Barbara – Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead (1954)
  20. Carver, Raymond – What We Talk About When We Talk About Love (1981)

Five I’m excited about:

  1. Auster, Paul – The New York Trilogy (1986)
  2. Carver, Raymond – What We Talk About When We Talk About Love (1981)
  3. Dostoyevsky, Fyodor – The Double (1846)
  4. Jackson, Shirley – We Have Always Lived in the Castle (1962)
  5. Nabokov, Vladimir – Despair (1934)

Five I’m dreading:

  1. Hurston, Zora Neale – Their Eyes Were Watching God (1937)
  2. Kafka, Franz – The Trial (1925)
  3. Swift, Jonathan – Gulliver’s Travels (1726)
  4. Undset, Sigrid – The Wreath (Kristin Lavransdatter #1) (1920)
  5. Voltaire – Candide (1759)

Five I’m neutral about:

  1. Doyle, Sir Arthur Conan – The Sign of Four (1890)
  2. Ferber, Edna – So Big (1924)
  3. Hughes, Richard – A High Wind in Jamaica (1927)
  4. Zola, Emile – The Belly of Paris (1873)
  5. Zweig, Stefan – Chess Story (1941)

Virago titles:

  1. Comyns, Barbara – Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead (1954)
  2. Maurier, Daphne du – Rebecca (1938)
  3. Johnson, Josephine Winslow – Now in November (1934)
  4. Schreiner, Olive – The Story of an African Farm (1883)
  5. Spark, Muriel – Memento Mori (1959)
8 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Classics Spin #5

  1. You have so many great books on your list!! Rebecca, Their Eyes Were Watching God, and The Belly of Paris. I love Zola so I’m always excited when other bloggers are reading him.

    Reply
  2. I kind of agree with you about your “dreading” list. At least Candide is short. I’m going to be reading it for a read-along in March. Zola is wonderful. I must start reading Nabakov; I’ve heard his writing is excellent.

    Have a good Spin! I hope you get what you’re wishing for!

    Reply
  3. Interesting list – “The Double” is great! Of the “Dreading” list the Kafka is the only one I’ve read and I did enjoy it….!

    Reply
  4. Good luck with the spin! I got Nabokov’s ‘Lolita’ in the last spin so will be interested to read a review on ‘Despair’ if you get that, he is such a beautiful writer. I am intrigued by some of the books on your Virago list as I haven’t heard of some of them before, so I will now go and look those up!

    Reply
    • I’m dreading TEWWG because I know it’s going to rip me up emotionally. My fiance highly recommends it, but he tells me it will definitely get to me…and I’m not really in that sort of mood right now. Well, the spin number shall fall where it falls!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

