Now Then – Where Was I?

Well, it’s been an interesting couple of weeks.  Right at the tale end of the Bout of Books challenge, I contracted some sort of flu-ish bug, which knocked me on my caboose for around a week.  I didn’t much feel like reading.  (I’ve always wished I was one of those people who got a bunch of reading done when sick;  reading when sick is a sure way to put me to sleep, which I suppose is a good thing in that state.)

Near the end of my sick week, the kitchen sink that had been causing us trouble off and on for a couple of weeks began spewing water into the lower cabinets, yet the tap itself would not work.  So out came the repair guy again, this time to replace the whole works.  Then the next day, the coup de grâce – the furnace died.  This is in the middle of the cold snap brought on by the polar vortex.  Luckily, we aren’t farther east, or things could have been much worse. Anyhow…for two days we had no heat, then when we got done being stubborn we rustled up a space heater (which works great if you huddle near it but doesn’t do much for a whole house.) Eventually (two more days later) the landlord got a furnace guy to come out.  He was less than great at his job, but he did finally get the thing running again.

All in all, it’s been quite a fortnight.  I’ve gotten some reading done here and there, but I’m quite behind on what I’d planned for the blog.  I managed to miss 2 weeks of Deal Me In story reviews, so I’m going to try to get them up today or tomorrow with this week’s review.  I also have my review of Rite of Passage written but need to format it, so perhaps it will be up tonight or tomorrow morning, as well.  I have yet to review Seven Japanese Tales or Ellen Foster, but those tasks are in queue.

Currently reading:  Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie and still chewing away at The Pillow Book.
Next up:  The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder and The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame.

3 thoughts on “Now Then – Where Was I?

  1. I know there are times when I think ‘wish I had a bad cold so I could stay at home and read rather than go to work’ But I know I couldn’t read if I was really sick so it would have to be something not bad enough to knock me out but with enough power to make going to work impossible. I dont mean to make fun of people who are genuinely ill though, that definitely is not something to joke about!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

