Bout of Books 9.0: Goals

Bout of Books Read-a-ThonBout of Books 9.0 Read-a-Thon starts tomorrow, January 6, and runs through the 12th.  This will be my first time participating in this particular read-a-thon, and I’m looking forward to getting a lot of reading done.

Here are my goals for the week:

Time Devoted to Reading:

I will be reading each day of the read-a-thon, although I will have less time to read some days than others.  Tuesday the 7th will afford me very little reading time – maybe 30 minutes in the morning and/or very late evening – and Friday the 10th may be a no-read day, although I will be taking a 45-minutes each way bus trip so I will try to read then.  (Sometimes it makes me too sleepy to read on a bus or train, and as I’m going to an unfamiliar destination I want to be as alert as possible when I get there.)  I should have some time to read each of the other days, with Wednesday probably leaving me the house to myself all day, as I’ll be home that day but the family will be gone, so I’ll try to get a lot of reading in then.  The weekend is looking pretty loose, so I may be able to read a good bit then, too.

General Goals for Read-a-Thon Week:

  • I will stringently limit my internet browsing/surfing during my free time throughout read-a-thon week.  I’m too inclined to fall down a Google hole or get lost in a Wikipedia maze and sacrifice valuable reading time.
  • I will strive to post about my progress each day and link it to the official check-in posts.
  • I will take part in any of the optional daily read-a-thon challenges and games that strike my fancy and for which I have time that day.

Books to Read:

  • I will start the read-a-thon on Monday by reading my first pick for the Deal Me In short story challenge:  “Speech Sounds” by Octavia Butler (story dictated by drawing the 4 of Hearts from the pack.)  I will try to get a short review of the story up sometime during the day, as well.
  • Monday will be short story day, I think.  I will finish Seven Japanese Tales by Jun’ichiro Tanizaki.  I have 4 of 7 stories left to read at the start of the read-a-thon.  This will be my 2nd goal for Day 1 of the event and will be completed before I allow myself to start another book.
  • I will start Range of Ghosts by Elizabeth Bear and White Teeth by Zadie Smith.  I would love to finish one – or both-  of these during read-a-thon week, but I am not going to chastise myself if that doesn’t happen.
  • I will keep moving through sections of The Pillow Book by Sei Shōnagon and its copious appendices and footnotes.  I don’t expect to finish this one during the read-a-thon.  I’d like to finish it during January, at least.
  • I will push myself to keep reading a few pages of Virginia Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway each day.  I would also like to finish this in January, but I doubt I will complete it during read-a-thon week.
  • I may end up reading something short on my Kindle during my trip Friday, so I don’t have to lug books with me.  If so, I’ll probably either dig into The Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle or keep trucking along with Mrs. Dalloway via downloaded public domain copy.  (I’m working from a paper copy at home.)

I hope everyone taking part in the event has a great time and that you read many wonderful books!

3 thoughts on “Bout of Books 9.0: Goals

Leave a Reply

