The Classics Club Readathon Begins!

Classics Club Read-a-Thon The 2nd Annual Classics Club Readathon is in full swing! Technically, it started at 8am EST, which is 5am here in Washington state.  As I managed to actually sleep half-decently last night, I didn’t wake up until about an hour ago (just before 10am…practically unheard of for me) and am just getting started reading.  Oh, well.  This is supposed to be a “zero pressure” readathon, and it feels good to get some decent sleep!

The Club has posted a starting point questionnaire.  Here are my answers:

  1. Name and Blog:  Candiss at Read the Gamut
  2. Snacks and Beverages of Choice:  I know it’s boring, but I’m not a big snacker. I will be drinking, as pretty much everyday, enough English Breakfast tea and plain fizzy seltzer water to water-log an elephant.  I have some apples and peanut butter and granola bars for emergency snacking, as well as some havarti cheese.
  3. Where are you reading from today?:  the Puget Sound region of Washington state, US  (It’s mild here today for winter, 39F/3.8C, clear with blue skies. It’s usually gray and rainy in the NW most days in winter.  It’s unusually clear and mild right now, which often happens when it’s blizzardy farther East in the plains and Midwest.  Of course, it’s green here year-round from lots of evergreens.  We rarely get any snow, except up in the mountains, and while some trees change color and lose their leaves, the number of evergreen plants keeps it not seeming quite like winter to me, a Midwesterner.  But hey…it gets dark just after 4pm all winter – something I will NEVER get used to.)
  4. What are your goals for the Readathon?:  I would like to get through 1-2 books and perhaps a short story or two.
  5. What book(s) are you planning on reading?:  In paper form, Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf, Rite of Passage by Alexei Panshin (a vintage science fiction coming-of-age,) and stories from Seven Japanese Tales by Jun’ichiro Tanizaki and/or sections from The Pillow Book of Sei Shonagon.  I also have several titles on my Kindle if I need a change.  (The Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle and/or Candide by Voltaire are my most likely targets.)
  6. Are you excited?:  Indeed I am.  🙂

My book pile:
mrs. dallowayrite of passageseven japanese tales

the pillow bookthe sign of fourcandide

Good luck to all you read-a-thoners!

One thought on “The Classics Club Readathon Begins!

  1. I love your choices of literature (especially the Japanese!) I think taking a break, so to speak, with a few Japanese short stories is a fine idea for such an event. Thanks for reminding me that it’s beginning. Begun. I’ve had a busy morning get my hair cut 😉 but I’m back to my book again. Phew!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

