Final Read-a-Thon Update – Dewey’s October 2013 RAT

Well, the October Read-a-Thon is over, hour 24 having come and gone between 4-5am my time.  I had a lot of fun and got a lot more reading done than I would have otherwise.  Here are my answers for the end-of-RAT meme and my final stats.
 

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? – I don’t think there was any one particular hour, although I did have a fit of fitfulness whenever I took long breaks from reading, discovered I’d fallen asleep, etc., as I wanted to scramble to “catch up” in the following hour.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? – Of the books I read from this year, I’d suggest Year of the Flood, as it’s fast-moving and engaging and smart…but it’s not short.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? – I honestly can’t think of any.  The folks running the show seem to have it down as tight as can be.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? – For me, things worked best when I set a timer and forced regular breaks instead of just reading until I felt I had to break for a while.  Next year, I’ll try to do that the entire time as much as possible.  The sense of routine/schedule helped.
  5. How many books did you read? – I completed one book, got 1/3 of the way through another, 1/4 of the way through a third and 50 pages into a fourth.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? – How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu (completed), And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie, The Aspern Papers by Henry James, and Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? How to Live Safely… was a wonderful surprise.  I know many people wouldn’t like it, but its particular mix of sci-fi, metafiction, metaphysics, autobiography, humor, and melancholy worked perfectly for my tastes.
  8. Which did you enjoy least?The Aspern Papers was (rather is, as I’m not finished) a molasses-like slog.  It’s not my favorite James, nor is it a classic that has held up over the years stylistically, I don’t think.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? – This question is not applicable to me, as I wasn’t a Cheerleader…but they did an awesome job!
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? – Very likely.  I’m looking forward to the April incarnation!  I’ll almost surely just be a reader again.  I don’t feel ready for another role.
  11.  

Here’s my final update and stats:

  • 8:00-9:00pm – I fell asleep again here.  I’m an insomniac, and if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the years it’s that if I try to sleep, I can’t…but if I try to read in the evening, it’s a surefire snooze-inducer.
  • 9:00-10:00pm – And Then There Were None, page 1-46
  • 10:00-11:30pm – Here my fiance got home from running dialysis, so we had our customarily-super-late dinner and chat session.  Yes, we know we eat at odd hours.
  • 11:30pm-sleep o’clock (I’m not exactly sure when that was!  Looking at the pages I got through, I’m going to say 1.5 hours.) – And Then There Were None, page 47-114
  •  

Time read this update: 2 hours 30 minutes
Pages read this update: 114 pages
Total time read: 7 hours 15 minutes
Total pages read:368 pages
Total books finished: 1
 
 
So…I read just over 7 hours out of the designated 24, and I got through 368 pages.  I’m a bit disappointed in my totals, but I’m not going to beat myself up about it.  I know I did the best I could this time, and I have some ideas and tips I’ve learned from both my own experience and other participants’ input for how to up my stats next time.  And I had fun!

Thanks to the read-a-thon organizers, hosts/co-hosts, cheerleaders and all the other readers for making this a fun event.  I’ll see you all again in April!

2 thoughts on “Final Read-a-Thon Update – Dewey’s October 2013 RAT

Leave a Reply

