Dewey’s October 2013 Read-a-Thon: Intro Post

I wanted to start this read-a-thon at the standardized starting time, (which is 5am my time/PST) but I managed to oversleep.  I’ve just finished breakfast and morning chores, so I’m about to dive in.  I’ll start off with the intro meme posted for the challenge:
 
 
1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? – I’m in the Puget Sound region of Washington State, USA
 
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? – The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood.  She’s a favorite author of mine, and I’m eager to get on with this series in anticipation of #3, MaddAddam, which just came out.
 
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? – I hadn’t really thought about that…probably air-popped popcorn, which is a go-to snack for me.  I haven’t really planned on having anything special, other than copious amounts of black tea (PG Tips, baby!)  Tea is always special!
 
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! – I am in a sort of limbo in my life right now.  My son is 19 now and mostly off doing his own thing, and I’m looking to go back to school to learn something new, but I keep hitting snags that put my start date back.  I’m in a waiting phase, which makes me a bit loony.
 
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? – This is my first time with the Dewey’s read-a-thon, although I’ve participated in other “RATs” before.  I’m looking forward to paring down the ol’ TBR mound (to make room for the next batch, of course!)

One thought on “Dewey’s October 2013 Read-a-Thon: Intro Post

  1. I’m already looking forward to some air-popped popcorn tonight, too! I hear you on the 5am start time – it’s rough but once I’m up the early hours are actually my favourite part of the readathon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

