Getting Up to Speed and Read-a-Thon Love

I’ve been away from the blog for quite a while now, dealing with health issues and the fickleness of Life in general.  Furthermore, I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump, not reading as much as usual, and even when I finish a book – even if I loved it – I haven’t felt inspired to write about what I’ve read.  I’ve seen my reading self pass through this phase enough times to know it is temporary and will (thankfully) pass.

In an effort to try to encourage it to pass more quickly, I’m signing up for Dewey’s October 2013 24-Hour Read-a-Thon, which takes place tomorrow, Saturday October 12.  The goal is to read as much as possible all day long, eschewing other hobbies and distractions, and putting reading front-and-center for an entire day.   I love read-a-thons.  I love having a set goal and self-enforced rules that get me to ignore the internet, movies, and other mediated attention-suckers and prod me to get my nose back in a book where it belongs.  And man do I ever need the kick in the pants inspiration and encouragement!

The Plan

I have two books I’m working on right now – a classic and a recent-ish multiple award-nominated science fiction:

The Aspern Papers by Henry James  The Aspern Papers by Henry James (1888)  is a novella focusing on obsession and privacy vs celebrity and where the lines are drawn for the public’s right-to-    know.  I’m not too far in, but the discussion at the Goodreads group The Novella Club has my interest piqued.

 

 

 

 

 

and

How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu  How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu is a metafictional, somewhat surreal rumination on memory, longing, and self-      determination in the guise of a humorous time travel narrative.  I’m loving it so far, and it’s quite multi-layered and much deeper than I’d anticipated, sweet  and funny and wise and melancholy all at once.

 

 

 

 

 

I’ll start there, and if by some miracle I get through both of those, I have Margaret Atwood’s Year of the Flood and Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None on stand-by.  I swear, I’ve been trying to read the Christie for nearly three years, and something always gets in the way!

Other reading notes:  I’ve finished a couple of titles towards my Classics Club goals, but none has inspired me to write of them.  (Again with the meh.  I’ll be glad when this passes!) Although I haven’t been anywhere near the middle of the recent Goodreads kerfuffle, I find myself increasingly uncomfortable with the atmosphere there, so I’m not keen to post any new reviews to the site. I’m thinking of pulling my old reviews from the site as well.  I’m not yet certain. However, I do know I want my reviews to have a home somewhere, so I’m going to start posting my past reviews here at this blog.  Only a few of them were ever housed at my old blog, and the non-speculative fiction reviews never lived anywhere “owned” by me.  So even if I’m not feeling particularly write-y at the moment, I thought it might be a positive move to consolidate my reviews here.  Perhaps I’ll inspire myself by seeing them all in one place.  🙂  I plan to have the first couple posted here this weekend.

6 thoughts on “Getting Up to Speed and Read-a-Thon Love

  1. I hate reading slumps and have totally been in one myself. I hope the RAT is going great for you!

    Jenn and The Cats from *Team Owl*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

