The Classics Club: Classics Spin #2

Image

The Classics Club is holding the second round of The Classics Spin, and I’m going to play along.  This will be my first time getting involved, and I definitely need the nudge to help me move forward with my classics list.

The rules of the game are as follows:

  1. Pick twenty unread books from your Classics Club List.
  2. Challenge yourself by including 5 books you are dreading/hesitant to read.  The rest of the books are up to the participant to decide how to choose.
  3. Post that list, numbered 1-20 and in whatever order you like, on your blog by Monday, May 20.
  4. Monday morning, the club mods will announce a number from 1-20. Go to your list of twenty books and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  5. Read that book by July 1.

I’m a bit of a a control freak, in my reading as in most other things, and I’m hoping this small bit of randomness will help me jump back into heavier reading.  It’s been a rough couple of months, and I am having a lot of trouble getting inspired to read anything substantial or to write much of anything at all.*   I’m hoping for serendipity to connect me with my next favorite read!

So here is my list of 20 books.  I’ve followed the suggestion of including 5 books I am dreading a bit.  The rest of my list is comprised of books I’m very excited to read ASAP, Japanese classics and classic works by 20th-century female authors.  I have randomized the order of  my list with the list randomization tool at Random.org to further mix things up. 

  1. Collins, Wilkie – The Woman in White (1859)
  2. Lem, Stanislaw – Solaris (1961)
  3. Zweig, Stefan – Chess Story/The Royal Game (1941)
  4. Murdoch, Iris – The Bell (1958)
  5. Sōseki, Natsumi – Kokoro (1914)
  6. Gracq, Julien – The Opposing Shore (1951)
  7. Dickens, Charles – A Tale of Two Cities (1854)
  8. Maurier, Daphne du – Rebecca (1938)
  9. Fowles, John – The Magus (1965)
  10. Christie, Agatha – And Then There Were None (1939)
  11. Mishima, Yukio – The Sound of Waves (1955)
  12. Tanizaki, Jun’ichirō – Seven Japanese Tales (collection, 1933, reread)
  13. Comyns, Barbara – Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead (1954)
  14. Márquez, Gabriel García – One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967)
  15. Abe, Kōbō – The Woman in the Dunes (1962)
  16. Jackson, Shirley – We Have Always Lived in the Castle (1962)
  17. Hesse, Herman – Steppenwolf (1927)
  18. Nabokov, Vladimir – Lolita (1955)
  19. Hurston, Zora Neale – Their Eyes Were Watching God (1937)
  20. London, Jack – The Iron Heel (1907)

*Long story short:  Multiple rounds of illness have flattened my reading over the past 6 weeks, and although I have finished three books during that time, I haven’t written anything about any of them.  I’d like to at least post a round-up of mini reviews for them in the next couple of days and then move forward from there.

4 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Classics Spin #2

  1. I love the variety in your list. I’m in the middle of Their Eyes Were Watching God right now and it’s an enjoyable read. Have fun with the spin!

    Reply
  2. I recently read Their Eyes Were Watching God for the Classic Club sync reading. I loved it – a lot more than I thought I would love a completely unknown book (to me) and more as time goes by. So for your sake I hope it’s #19 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

